Westcove

Westcove House Reviews, Stables Reviews, Garden Cottage Reviews, Pier Cottage Reviews, Wedding/Celebration Reviews


Westcove House:

...most idyllic estate we have stayed on...certainly found a gem in both of [the staff]
You have to most idyllic estate we have stayed on (and we have stayed on a few). I'm very envious of what you have and believe me I really mean that!! Katherine & Michael are absolutely fabulous people who bring everything you would want when your away from Westcove, nothing was a problem and they asked every day if we needed anything. You certainly found a gem in both of them.
- Alan, Co. Dublin, Ireland. Feb 2014.


...love every nook and cranny of Westcove
Nine of us from Washington DC, travelled here after we - a book club - read several of Morgan Llewellyn books about Irish history. We were struck by the beauty of the scenery, the expanse of the vistas, lakes rimmed by mountains and the spectacular hospitality and kindness of the local people. Katherine, Michael and Bernadette could not have been more helpful and caring. We love every nook and cranny of Westcove.
- The Barbers, Jurkowskis, Kunkels, Paiges and Wieners. Sept 2013


...a historic time for all of us
There are not enough superlatives in my vocabulary to describe how I feel about Westcove and Katherine, Bernie, Bernadette and Vinny and YOU and Ireland!!!! It was a historic time for all of us. The house is so lovely and comfortable for all of us. We felt so at home. The view from the terrace was idyllic-we loved the walk to Pier Cottage. The young folks took out the tiny rowboat to talk to the seals and swim on the beach across the way. They also climbed every mountain within reach and rode bikes everywhere. I went up the Kerry Way from both ends. Vinny took us looking for whales and on a beautiful walk with the wildflowers and the snails and the jelly fish and the Irish bumblebee orchid. I danced for four hours with Bernie and loved every minute. Bernie was amazing to keep this wild group moving. We took a private bus ride to Cork with guides and sang our hearts out on the way back. The food was superb - dinner was a highlight for all of us to come together and make outrageous toasts and sing Irish love songs. We explored lots of pubs for lunches and loved the food and people and the beer. I was so sad to miss hearing Vinny play after the dancing at the Blind Piper but I fell into bed.
I could go on and on but you've heard it all before. You have a treasure and you are great to share it...
- Faber family, USA. June 2012.


...always remember our time at Westcove and the wild beauty of the south west coast
Such a heavenly spot! Perfect weather and love of family all around. We sang, rode, slept well, ate too much ... we felt so well cared for, Katherine and Co are treasures! We will always remember our time at Westcove and the wild beauty of the south west coast. Although this was the perfect launching spot for trips to The Skelligs, horseback riding, The Kerry Way, it was also perfect to just walk the grounds and explore this grand house which has been so lovingly maintained ... Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
- Susie Monagan and family, Ithara, NY. April 2011


...haven't had so much fun in years
3/4/1921 was my 'birth day' - 3/4/2011 was great!! Each day made my dreams of anticipation come to life ... truly a rare experience, haven't had so much fun in years. Ray Staple
My dad, brothers, sister-in-law and I had a marvellous week. Many exciting drives, especially to the new viewing area off the cliffs, near Port MacGee. Wonderful recommendation for the Purple Heather, Kenmare, for simple and sublime, fresh crab sandwich. Most wonderful was the kind attention of Katherine and Michael, excellent advice, a delightful lamb dinner and fires mysteriously laid. We packed a lot in! Plan to return to share the experience again.
- Mary Stehle McQueen. March 2011

Delicious suppers & breakfasts .. a real holiday!
Just to let you know what a lovely holiday we all had.
Katherine looked after us beautifully. Delicious suppers and breakfasts with all shopping done on the nights we barbecued . It couldnt have been easier .. perfect .. I could have a real holiday!
....the trip to Skellig Islands was extraordinary.... Parknasilla Golf Course was a real gem (and only € 15 a round!)
- Mellissa from Hampshire


Loved all the (Westcove) houses, beautiful weather
We had the most wonderful time at Westcove in June! The weather was beautiful and the location of the home was just breathtaking. We loved all of the houses, but most of all we loved the people who work for you! They were so kind and helpful to us. Ireland is so beautiful...I feel so lucky to have have had the chance to take my children there.
- Jennifer from Virginia, US


We spent a wonderful week at Westcove House recently and enjoyed every minute!
It was idyllic, really. On the trip from Shannon, having to drive on the left side of the road for what seemed like forever, I thought, "This better be good". Well, it wasn't just good, it was excellent, beautiful, gorgeous. We loved it from the moment we arrived. And we hadn't even met Catherine, yet! She is a gem. Wouldn't, couldn't have had a better person in charge of the house (and of all of us).
We speak of our stay at Westcove House in almost hushed tones, now. It seems a lovely dream that we all shared but that was over too soon.
- Rosemary


Loved it from the moment we arrived
This large house, perfectly situated on Ireland’s scenic Ring of Kerry, overlooks a small fishing cove and possesses extended views to the south and west of the Kenmare estuary. The grounds are lovely and provide a very pleasant venue for short strolls, not to mention bucolic views of the property’s own flock of unusual Soay sheep (a nice added touch if you’re a knitter!) The house itself is furnished with all the modern conveniences, right down to electric mattress pads, should you be visiting on a chilly day in late autumn, and wireless internet connection; in addition, the services of an excellent cook can be had at extra cost.
But we would particularly emphasize two qualities: First, it’s quiet and private, set back from passing traffic, and a perfect refuge for just sitting around reading a book or spending quiet time with your family or group. Second is the cozy, homey atmosphere that arises from the carefully chosen décor, particularly in the downstairs common areas – a sitting room with a pot-bellied wood stove, a bar with a fireplace, and the spacious, well-appointed dining room with lots of big windows. In fact, our group of 8 in the house on this visit were actually from four different families, but by the end of the week, we felt like one big family thanks to the warmth of the house. Finally, Westcove is perfectly located for exploration of the Kerry peninsula and all its fun activities, and even provides a good base for daytrips farther afield, for example to Cork or to Killarney.
- Steve and Karen K.


Stunning views, fantastic food and a beautiful house - what more would you want from a relaxing retreat?
- LF, Solicitor, London

Alice from Cornwall

Kevin

The Stables:

We had a great week at the stables. The facilities were great and it took two families comfortably. We loved Ireland and the numerous beaches. We couldn't believe the colour of the water and sand. If it wasn't for the temperature of the sea you could have been in the Caribbean! Any one going to West Cove for their holiday will have a great time. The Murphys wasn't bad either!
- Patrick from UK


Unforgettable honeymoon...
My wife and I had our honeymoon in the Stables, and brought 10 friends along. The accommodation was superb. The house is perfectly laid out - there is enough big space to have everybody together in one room, but there are also enough private spots if you want more quiet time. This I thought was ideal for a big group of old friends. The kitchen is well equipped, and the ready supply for turf for the fire was very welcome. The surrounding area has some of the best hiking in Ireland, and the nearby beaches and pubs are the ideal place to relax. I can not recommend Westcove highly enough.
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
- John from Ireland


Garden Cottage:


Very successful holiday! We promised to come back when we left.
We just loved it as soon as we passed the entrance of Westcove with our VW-Bus. We felt so familiar just from the beginning. You and your parents founded and created a wonderful and unique place.
The garden cottage is great... the parent's sleeping room with the view to the garden and to the water is just amazing... we had the full moon time in the first nights. In the morning the sweet Irish sheeps next to the house waked us with its 'mäh'. And the funny, wild goots just entertained us during the days.
Katharine is wonderful, caring and unforgettable.
Thanks for us helping ourselves in your great garden with all the vegetables, what a unique experience...the salads, the zuccinis, the herbs etc., just great, great, great... I took great inspirations back to Germany regarding our own garden.
We relaxed so much, being lazy, sitting with 'Gin tonic' on the terrace, discovered the surrounding of Westcove, eating in the Blind Piper, had wonderful tasty croissants, 'like in the neighbourhood of the Champs Elysee'
Very 'successful' holiday!
We promised to come back, when we left.
- Brockman family, Germany. August 2014.


...back next summer but for a longer stay!
Garden Cottage at Westcove surpassed our expectations. The kids loved it, as did we.
We will hopefully be back next summer but for a longer stay! We had an action packed adventure of water sports and horses with the fishing thrown in for good measure. The boys were happy as they caught pollock, eel, crabs, trout, and perch.
The Blind Piper was great to eat in, our son is a coeliac and they looked after him very well.
Until next year, thanks again!
- Siobhan, Ireland. July 2014.


...cottage was absolutely perfect...Katherine was so hospitable...goal to return...in a year
Not a day goes by that Sam and Oliver and I don't think about our time in Ireland. It's a little bittersweet because if it wasn't for the fact we had left behind half of our family, I don't think we would have returned home! I just felt compelled to write and thank you for our time at Westcove - the cottage was absolutely perfect and whatever adventures we had during the days, the boys were adamant we return to the cottage by mid-afternoon so we could have time to watch the seals and enjoy the property. Katherine was so hospitable and brought us food the first night because we arrived too late and too tired to grab provisions on the drive in. She gave us so many wonderful recommendations. We hiked up and around the falls at Gleninchaquin, explored Staigue Fort, the beach at Derrynane, and wherever else our fancy took us. It was the loveliest feeling to arrive back at the cottage after a full day and make dinner while watching the weather out the french doors while the boys romped around.
It's strange to say, perhaps, but I have felt significantly homesick since returning home and it is our goal to return to your part of Ireland for my husband's 40th birthday in a year. I dearly hope to be able to stay at Westcove again, but either way, wanted to write and thank you for the time of our lives. It was very special getting to share the beauty of Ireland with my two oldest boys but we'd love to come back all six of us!
- Stephanie, Wisconsin, US. May 2014.

We enjoyed every second of being here
......we arrived the first day, the sea, the green, the flowers and trees were bathed in a magic glance.... Every day we went out for excursions and returned happy, full of impressions and with wind in our hair. The cosy Garden Cottage with its beautiful kitchen and lovely decorated rooms topped everything!! We felt so great and enjoyed every second of being here, especially in the mornings and evenings when the light became magic. the Irish people are lovely - friendly and helpful. In the Blind Piper - delicious food - and Freddies Bar we were warmly welcomed and enjoyed the Guinness, Vincent's charming service and the concert with Irish music. A big thank you to Katherine who was so helpful .... we are sure to come back again.
- Bettina from Switzerland


Poet's review!
A couple of dark Guinness and then count the white sheep - a very nice bed for a wonderful sleep.
Sometimes rain and very often we had sun - this is the right region to have some fun.
A beautiful cottage to stay - this vacation, there is no other way.
- Sven from Germany


wonderful stay
From the time of our warm welcome to the last moments of dappled sunshine on the patio, we have had a wonderful stay in Garden Cottage. Our toddler had a great time in the surf and the adults enjoyed a thundering gallop along the sands at low tide (like a scene from a 'Discover Ireland' TV ad')
…The cottage was lovely and we took full advantage of the outdoor areas and BBQ (we are Australian after all…)
- R & MT


wish we could have stayed longer
What a wonderful place you have here… we enjoyed every minute…the weather was perfect. We took lovely walks, went for drives, ate lovely food. We loved sitting on the patio, just listening to the birds and the sheep. We loved the beaches and wish we could have stayed longer.
- P & K N + daughter (Toronto, Canada)


Pier Cottage:

...amazing and coziest place I have...stayed!
...a big thank you for looking after us and being so accommodating with providing the downstairs room for my parents. They LOVED it! Pier Cottage was amazing and coziest place I have certainly stayed! The stormy weather only added to the charm of it and howling wind made us doubly enjoy sitting by the fire, sipping whiskey and playing many of the games provided at the cottage! Truly perfect place to escape the everyday stresses and spend some quality time with family!
The area was so peaceful and beautiful.. It was really tough to leave!
- Elina and family, October 2014.

wonderful vacation...Ireland's most beautiful area...most memorable...highly recommend...
We (couple + 5y old boy) have spent a wonderful 10 days vacation in the charming Pier House East End. We have selected the cottage mainly because of the unique remote location directly at the seafront in what we think is Ireland's most beautiful area and within driving distance to Kerry's main attractions. Everything was like it is described in the online-advertisements. The cottage is well equipped and provides everything that is required. We had extreme luck with the weather, as after an unusually rainy summer, there was for more than a week splendid weather throughout our total stay begin of September, with clear skies and temperatures that even allowed swims in the sea. Our 5 year old son enjoyed the "wildlife" on the coast just outside the door and was busy collecting all kind of sea animals like crabs, shrimps, worms etc. There is a small boat available to paddle over to a beautiful small beach on the opposite side. However, longer rides like to the seals sunbathing on the rocks some 100m away are not recommended due to strong currents. The owner Susannah and Kathrine the local housekeeper were very friendly and always helpful. Many attractions are in closest vicinity like the beautiful Derrynane House and Beach, the lovely village of Kenmare, Valentia island or the Skelligs. Also the walks along the rugged coast and the scenic drives on the Kerry, Beara and Dingle peninsulas all are highly recommended for nature lovers. Out of our so far 7 vacations in Ireland, this recent stay in Pier House was perhaps the most memorable one. I would highly recommend to all who are looking for a relaxing vacation in an idyllic scenery and that have an own vehicle to explore the area.
- Michael, Austria


idylic landscape and recreative atmosphere
wishing for idylic landscape and recreative atmosphere we found exactly what we were hoping for in piercottage. surrounded by breathtaking countryside and blessed with beautiful weather we spend some of the most beautiful holidays. The lovingly restored cottage right at the see is a sight to see itself. The next food shops and plenty of sights are close but a car is required.
- Angie, Deutschland


wonderful relaxing weeks
We have stayed at East End, Pier Cottage on two occasions and both times had wonderful relaxing weeks. It is such an idyllic location - quiet but within easy reach of beautiful beaches and scenic car rides. We whiled away the hours in front of the Cottage and were delighted when seals appeared in the waters below. We were fascinated to see the statue of Charlie Chaplin in nearby Waterville (he was a regular visitor). The Lakes of Killarney are within easy reach by car and are spectacular, especially if the mountain route is taken. A trip to the Skelligs was unmissable - the birds and seal sanctuary something only seen before on TV. There are so many suggestions for outings that many visits would be needed. Pier Cottage is the perfect holiday base for families or couples.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway.
- RHY, UK


likely to return
Just to let you know that the cottage, the surroundings and the weather all surpassed our expectations, we had a wonderful time and all 3 of us are likely to return one day sooner or later.
- VdeB, Netherlands


"The best cottage in Kerry"
I have stayed at Pier Cottage 9 or 10 times, at various stages of the Spring / +Summer season, and every time is a delight. The locals are incredibly friendly and +welcoming - real Irish hospitality!! - and I look forward to my next visit every time I leave.

Mairin


Weddings and Celebrations:


...could not have been more perfect of a location to get married...highly recommend
My Husband and I had our wedding celebration at Westcove House in August 2014 and it was perfect. We were able to house our guests on site for the week- the houses were all beautiful and very comfortable. The setting is peaceful and beautiful. We had everything we could need and more at the house. Susannah was excellent to work with when booking and planning our trip- provided many excellent tips and was easy to access for questions. Once we arrive Katherine made us comfortable and was there to help with anything we needed. The house was the perfect location to take day trips and hikes from. We cannot wait to visit again.
The house worked perfectly for a wedding celebration. We did a small ceremony on the front lawn, had dinner in the dining room, local musicians playing, and celebration in the stables. It could not have been more perfect of a location to get married. The food by Katherine and others was superb. We had dancing lessons with Bernie the night prior which allowed us to attempt some Irish dancing during the reception which was a blast. The venue was perfect for a wedding and made all guests feel comfortable and at home. I highly recommend Westcove House for anyone considering for vacation or wedding accommodations.
- Sarah, Kansas City, August 2012.


...perfect backdrop for a wonderful weekend...forever etched in our hearts
I've been meaning to write sooner, just only really got back to normality this week after the joy and emotion of our wedding party, and a lovely few days in Westcove with our parents afterwards. I just wanted to thank you again for being so accommodating with us, and for giving us the perfect backdrop for a wonderful weekend, that will be forever etched in our hearts and memories.
Our friends and family couldn't get over how gorgeous the setting was, whether they were coming from west cork or the south of Italy. One friend even made the trip from Vancouver, and said it was more than worth it. The day of the party went perfectly, the weather was good to us, and Katherine did an amazing job with the food -- it got nothing but glowing reports all round; the Italians loved the salmon in particular! And Katherine and Michael and everyone with them were so good to us.
- John. May 2014.


...wonderful situation...guests loved it...staff who ensured that everything ran smoothly
In June 2013 we rented all of the accommodation at Westcove and held a 50th birthday party there with a marquee. The house and gardens are in a wonderful situation and our guests loved it. The house and gardens are suitable for family gatherings/parties and weddings. Westcove is a very special place in a unique and fabulous location. Susannah made the booking process simple and efficient and it's important to mention Katherine Casey and her wonderful staff who ensured that everything ran smoothly. Katherine also caters for groups and she provided an excellent lunch for 50 on the day following the party.
- Geraldine, Isacroon, Kerry June 2013.

...smooth running...[no] fuss or stress...highly recommend
Sarah and I had our wedding at Westcove House with the whole property booked out for our friends and family from Australia and around the world. Katherine and the team were amazingly helpful throughout the whole process, from planning the wedding from the other side of the world through to housing everyone for the week and the smooth running of the reception on the big day. Everything that we needed and wished for was provided without any fuss or stress for us and we would highly recommend Westcove House to anybody, in fact we have since had Sarah's sister and another close friend book the venue for their weddings too! Thanks again,
- Alexander, Australia. May 2013.

 


Home | Westcove House | The Stables | Pier Cottage | Garden Cottage | Location | Activities | Rates/Availablity/Booking | Contact | Reviews | FAQs