Westcove

Westcove Estate Reviews, Stables Reviews, Garden Cottage Reviews, Pier Cottage Reviews, Wedding/Celebration Reviews


Westcove Estate (from groups staying at Westcove House, The Stables and Garden Cottage): - More reviews can be found at:


TripAdvisor: Westcove Estate and Westcove House.

HomeAway: Westcove Estate and Westcove House.

Guest book reviews and emails from recent visitors:

"Westcove lived up to all our expectations we had a brilliant weekend with good weather, beautiful location and accommodation and good food.
We all loved it. Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your wonderful, idyllic home.
Why would you ever go abroad when we have such locations in our own back yard."
Jo from Cork - March 2019 - Westcove House

"The house was absolutely beautiful and perfect for the murder mystery setting ( the company who ran the murder mystery game also said it was one of the best venues they've had!). None of the party had actually visited the area before and thought it was idyllic.
The food was delicious (both the 'freezer food' and the dinner) The meals and the weekend were seamless - I'd especially like to say how impressed I was when it came to accommodating our coeliac guest.
Overall, a wonderful weekend was had and everyone in the party commented on how stunning the property was!
Jenny - Ireland - October 2018 - Westcove Estate

"Gorgeous views - beautiful house and surrounds and the most delicious food and wonderful service! Had truly forgotten how beautiful Kerry is so thank you for the wonderful reminder! In total we were 28 each night - some came and went and were so sad to leave - but we must "Go to Come" so we look forward to our return trip! Thanks for everything and "Up the Kingdom!". God bless and thanks."

"We loved our stay with the Flanagans and don't want to leave - gorgeous and relaxing and the view was memorable. We want to return soon. Thank you for sharing this beautiful home."
July 2018

"Simply the best vacation we have ever had! We were here as a very special celebration of my Mum's 80th birthday. Her grandparents came to the US from Ireland and she always wanted to come here and see it. Dad decided to give her this amazing birthday gift for her and also for all of us. So many great experiences, but the best were the family dinners together. Amazing tastes of Ireland that we experienced together as a family, relaxing and talking and growing closer. Thank you Katherine, Colette & Bernie especially for making this trip so special for us, giving us memories to last a lifetime!"
July 2018

"Absolutely fantastic family reunion. We couldn't have asked for better. 3 generations got together from Ireland, America, Australia and Germany. The house was truly amazing and the staff couldn't be more helpful and kind. Don't forget to take out the boats down at the boat house - a lovely way to spend the afternoon. Thank you for everything."
July 2018

"What a lovely setting!"
Westcove house is pretty amazing, from the lovely setting (having good weather helped) to the history and character of the house, all wonderful. We were a group of 23 (5 families) with children ranging from 5 to 17. We had a lovely time in the house with fun and games in the evening and walks/runs around the local area plus plenty to keep everyone occupied a little further afield (Eclipse Ireland - Adventure center).
Michael F, March 2018

"A perfect vacation"
Wow! This place was a bit of heaven on earth - my family (all 19 of us) stayed in the Westcove house and Stables to celebrate my mother's 80th birthday. Katherine and her staff are wonderfully accommodating and the food and service was excellent! We enjoyed being on the water, breathtaking scenery, and easy access to many Kerry activities and outings: Skelligs, horseback riding, walking the Kerry Way, great pubs, Killarney National Park, Kenmare market, church in Caherdaniel. Refreshing and inspiring! Thanks for sharing your beautiful properties and grounds with us - we feel lucky to have stayed there!
Luke F, Aug 2018

"A memorable week with friends and family"
My husband and Family were recently so lucky to be invited to join our special friends and their family to celebrate a special birthday The week we spent at Westcove exceeded all our expectations and we had a fantastic time here enjoying every minute of Westcove and the surrounding areas. Our friends rented the House, the Stables and the Cottage. We all enjoyed the accommodation which for our group size of 28 was very comfortable,clean,spacious and had all the amenities you would wish for! We were all so very happy we did not want to leave! For our group everything was just perfect, we all gathered together in the dining room for breakfast, dinner, and the living room with a bar in the evenings for drinks, games, songs and story telling. One night, we had a ceilidh in the games room in the Stables which was so much fun! A local group played for us while we danced and made the most amazing memories we will never forget! I The staff at Westcove are amazing so friendly and full of advise and recommendations if asked! The meals prepared by Katherine and her staff were lovely and always tasty - great to return to on some nights after a busy day exploring the Wild Atlantic way. We had a busy week enjoying the surrounding areas including parts of the Ring of Kerry, beautiful beaches, trips into Killarney, walking, golf, shopping, a trip over to Valentia on the car ferry , visiting the local restaurants and amazing local pubs with local music and more. An amazing week at Westcove with the best friends and Family we could wish for enhanced only by the beauty of this place! We would return in a heartbeat. Till we all meet again .. Thank you xx
Aug 2018

"Just Perfect"
Stayed for 6 days with family and friends visiting from USA England and Ireland to celebrate my cousins very special 50th birthday. First impressions WOW... what a beautiful old Irish country home (castle I believe back in the day). It truly felt like home with all the home comforts.A group of 28 we used all 3 dwellings, house, cottage and stables. Days spent driving and walking around the stunningly beautiful Wild Atlantic Way, I had forgotten just how beautiful Kerry is. We visited the quaint little villages of Valentia, Portmagee, Ballinskelligs , Waterville, Catherdaniel, the busy bustling Kenmare, the beautiful postcard village of Sneem, all the while drinking in the seas, cliffs, mountains, and beautiful fresh air. We drank and ate local delicious home cooked food, and sang and danced to music in the pubs, . We gathered every evening at 7 for drinks and delicious canapés on the terrace overlooking the bay before dinner was served by Katherine and her ' little gang of Merry women'.. we were truly spoilt all week with their home cooked delights. One night they prepared a lovely bbq despite a little down- pour mid cooking the lovely ladies still managed to deliver. One evening we held a special party in the stables for Janet's 50th, we had a Ceili band play, sing and teach us old traditional Irish dances... great fun had by all. This is a house built for 'a gathering' and that's exactly what we did. To say it was enjoyed by us all is an understatement. Westcove you are beautiful, I really hope to visit again soon. Katherine and all the ladies huge thanks you made us all so welcome and spoilt us.
Aug 2018

"A true fairy tale setting with exceptional homes and hospitality"
We stayed here for 1 week with extended family and friends. We had more than enough room for our group of 12 but enjoyed the luxury of the extra space. The terrace of the main house overlooks the cove and bay. That was my favorite spot. I loved kayaking right from the house out into the bay with the seals. The bakery nearby was such a treat. The coordinator and owner gave us great help and recommendations. We did the Skellig trip with John, music night with Pat, storytelling with Batt and the seaweed walk. All were great additions. There are great small towns nearby with idyllic beaches and culture and pubs. Great local history. Westcove quickly became my favorite place in Ireland and I can't wait to return someday.
Jun 2018

"I can't tell you how much we loved our time at Westcove! "
Everything was perfection from the moment we arrived. Katherine was so kind and helpful. The food was incredible - I have never seen so many cleared plates at a wedding! We could not have dreamed of a more perfect time, and everyone who stayed agreed as well! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home withus !The House looks gorgeous in the background of our wedding photographs.
A & S Wedding August 2018

"...we have had the most wonderful week at Westcove."
We've had some lovely spells of weather and taken full advantage of all your recommendations - the Skelligs with John O'Shea, a lovely rib trip to Killmacillogue with Des O'Shea and lots of lovely garden visits and the children have had a heavenly time riding and on the beach etc. Katherine has been so delightful, as have Bernie & Colette.
A.D , Northern Ireland August 2017

"What a beautiful place!"
Our group was gathering to honour our patriarch, R.Y. aged 86 ... it was his desire to visit Ireland. We are a family of adventurers. Some of the many highlights include:- a kayak ride to O'Carrolls Cove, a visit to the Lobster Bar in Waterville, hearing 'Danny Boy' at the Blind Piper, the stained glass at Holy Cross Church in Kenmare, the jaunting cart ride to Muckross Abbey, near Killarney, hot shell massage at Parknasilla resort, horseback riding on the Derrynane Dunes, driving through The Healey Pass, catching a boat from Port Magee to the island of Skellig Michael .... We love the Ring of Kerry!
M.Y., Texas, USA, July 17

The following 4 reviews were sent by a group of artists from the US who stayed at Westcove House, The Stables and Garden Cottage for 10 days in early October, 2016.

"Magical Location with Lovely Staff"
I stayed at Westcove House including the Stables and Garden cottage with a group of 16 artists for 10 days. The views from the property are beautiful and ever changing and I could imagine never getting tired of them. The house itself is very comfortable with plenty of room for a large group to gather as well as places to get time alone if needed. Katherine oversaw our visit and was a most generous and thoughtful host. She and Bernie cooked delicious meals for us, arranged for music, transportation, and whatever else we needed. She made our stay at Westcove particularly delightful. I'm already thinking of how and when I can go back. Go. You won't regret it.
Lilliana - Artist Group Leader

"Spectacular landscape and perfect accommodations for our artists' workshop!"
We had 16 people in three of the buildings on the property. We all had private accommodations and plenty of room for gathering in each. The main house was a delightful gathering place for all and for our group meals. The food prepared by Katherine and Bernadette was absolutely delicious. I stayed in The Stables with 5 others, which we found to be lovely and cozy. Evenings in front of the fire with a glass of wine after a long day painting or touring was perfect! We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful setting or more helpful host than Katherine. Thanks for a great stay!

"Artist's Paradise"
Just returned from a 10-day stay at Westcove House, and miss it terribly. There were 16 artists in total staying on the property, and our experience was beyond expectation. Katherine, who oversees the property, is the go-to person with amazing skills. She provided us with meals, transportation, and whatever else we required or requested. We even had a wonderful evening of music with the two extremely talented musicians from The Blind Piper which Katherine was able to facilitate after one of our members wondered if it was a possibility. Thank you Katherine for everything!! We took over the main property which has three lovely buildings - the Main House, the Cottage and the Stable - and the facilities had everything we needed to give us a successful week of painting, sightseeing and touring. Hiking in the area is great as well, and only wish I had more time to explore some of the other trails on the Kerry Way. Would recommend this property in a minute for groups small and large, and I hope I have the chance to visit again in the future.

"Beautiful, Comfortable, Clean and Katherine is a gem!"
Just came back from staying at Westcove House with a large group of artists. This is one of the most beautiful and comfortable, and clean places I've been to. Katherine, the caretaker truly earns that name! She is a most helpful, charming and engaging person and went above and beyond to give us a memorable trip! The view from the house is gorgeous and changes throughout the day as the light changes. I cannot imagine a more wonderful place to stay in Ireland!

"Wish I could live there permanently"
A large group of friends spent four nights at this charming, wonderful place. It was comfortable and clean, and located in a beautiful place with views of harbor and greenery. The staff members were friendly, helpful, and cheerful, and made great meals. The place is historical, cozy, restful; had good places to take walks, as well as a game room and self-laundry, and kitchens in each building. All or most buildings have a fireplace. Located within driving distance to several interesting day trips.
Botanist Group from USA September 2016.

Delicious suppers & breakfasts .. a real holiday!
Just to let you know what a lovely holiday we all had.
Katherine looked after us beautifully. Delicious suppers and breakfasts with all shopping done on the nights we barbecued. It couldnt have been easier.. perfect.. I could have a real holiday!
....the trip to Skellig Islands was extraordinary.... Parknasilla Golf Course was a real gem (and only € 15 a round!)
Mellissa from Hampshire

Loved all the (Westcove) houses, beautiful weather
We had the most wonderful time at Westcove in June! The weather was beautiful and the location of the home was just breathtaking. We loved all of the houses, but most of all we loved the people who work for you! They were so kind and helpful to us. Ireland is so beautiful...I feel so lucky to have have had the chance to take my children there.
Jennifer from Virginia, US

We spent a wonderful week at Westcove House recently and enjoyed every minute!
It was idyllic, really. On the trip from Shannon, having to drive on the left side of the road for what seemed like forever, I thought, "This better be good". Well, it wasn't just good, it was excellent, beautiful, gorgeous. We loved it from the moment we arrived. And we hadn't even met Catherine, yet! She is a gem. Wouldn't, couldn't have had a better person in charge of the house (and of all of us).
We speak of our stay at Westcove House in almost hushed tones, now. It seems a lovely dream that we all shared but that was over too soon.
Rosemary

Loved it from the moment we arrived
This large house, perfectly situated on Ireland's scenic Ring of Kerry, overlooks a small fishing cove and possesses extended views to the south and west of the Kenmare estuary. The grounds are lovely and provide a very pleasant venue for short strolls, not to mention bucolic views of the property's own flock of unusual Soay sheep (a nice added touch if you're a knitter!) The house itself is furnished with all the modern conveniences, right down to electric mattress pads, should you be visiting on a chilly day in late autumn, and wireless internet connection; in addition, the services of an excellent cook can be had at extra cost
We would particularly emphasize two qualities: First, it's quiet and private, set back from passing traffic, and a perfect refuge for just sitting around reading a book or spending quiet time with your family or group. Second is the cozy, homey atmosphere that arises from the carefully chosen décor, particularly in the downstairs common areas - a sitting room with a pot-bellied wood stove, a bar with a fireplace, and the spacious, well-appointed dining room with lots of big windows. In fact, our group of 8 in the house on this visit were actually from four different families, but by the end of the week, we felt like one big family thanks to the warmth of the house. Finally, Westcove is perfectly located for exploration of the Kerry peninsula and all its fun activities, and even provides a good base for daytrips farther afield, for example to Cork or to Killarney
Steve and Karen K.

Stunning views, fantastic food and a beautiful house
What more would you want from a relaxing retreat?
LF, Solicitor, London

The Stables:- More reviews can be found at:


TripAdvisor: The Stables.

HomeAway: The Stables.

Guest book reviews and emails from recent visitors:

"Would definitely come back again"
We stayed in the stables as part of pre wedding celebrations. It was a lovely stay, relaxing and beautiful views all around. Would definitely come back again. The staff are very helpful and friendly, in particular Katherine and Susannah who were extremely helpful and accommodating. Thank you for such a wonderful stay!!
Danica, Australia, for a stay in April 2018

"Great for a big family"
We had a wonderful Christmas at the Stables. Our 5 children ranging in age from 27- 16 really enjoyed their time in West Cove. The Stables is perfect for a big group like ours and with lovely comfortable beds and bedrooms with plenty of space, no one felt crowded. The Christmas decorations were a lovely added touch and made our 16 year old, reluctant traveller, much happier about being away from home at Christmas. The kitchen is very well equipped and anything I thought I needed was there. The sitting room, cosy and made really toasty with the open fire, perfect for long winter evenings after bracing walks on the long strand at Derrynane. Although we know the area well, it was a treat to stay somewhere new and explore another part of this special area. Being able to walk down to the Pier early in the morning or just before dark was great. the setting of the house is just picture perfect, sea, tiny coves and with the backdrop of mountains, which were obligingly snow covered. We were able to enjoy the spectacular thunderstorms from the comfortable warm vantage point of The Stables and spent our evenings playing board games, some we brought with us but some were in the house. The jigsaw of the car kept us busy for the time we were there in fact we nearly had to extend the stay to finish it... So as you can see we loved the house and the setting.
December 2017

"Best place for bigger crew of friends to stay in Kerry !!!"
From the beginning to the very end I cannot find a single flaw with this outstanding holiday. 1) Location is superb!!! From one side when you take a shower you see the beautiful Kerry mountains, on the other side when you wake up, right from the bed the first thing that you see is a fantastic view of the sea. 2) The house itself is perfect!!! There is so much space everywhere you can do literally anything! Outside it's a massive garden where we had a big barbecue, inside (after few beers), we had tournaments in table tennis and table football. Everything works well, the beds are big and comfy and all the furniture reminds me of my home 3) My friend left her job badge begind when we left, and the lady in charge of the Stables found it and send it by post to her right away all the way to Dublin without even charging! Big Thanks to Katherine - the property manager, and Susannah - the owner. I can't wait to go there again!!!
P, September 2017

We had a great week at the stables. The facilities were great and it took two families comfortably. We loved Ireland and the numerous beaches. We couldn't believe the colour of the water and sand. If it wasn't for the temperature of the sea you could have been in the Caribbean! Any one going to West Cove for their holiday will have a great time. The Murphys wasn't bad either!
Patrick from UK

Unforgettable honeymoon...
My wife and I had our honeymoon in the Stables, and brought 10 friends along. The accommodation was superb. The house is perfectly laid out - there is enough big space to have everybody together in one room, but there are also enough private spots if you want more quiet time. This I thought was ideal for a big group of old friends. The kitchen is well equipped, and the ready supply for turf for the fire was very welcome. The surrounding area has some of the best hiking in Ireland, and the nearby beaches and pubs are the ideal place to relax. I can not recommend Westcove highly enough.

Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
John from Ireland

Garden Cottage: - More reviews can be found at:


TripAdvisor: Garden Cottage.

HomeAway: Garden Cottage

Guest book reviews and emails from recent visitors:

Wonderful stay
This is a wonderful place to stay in one of the most beautiful areas of Ireland. It was comfortable and quiet. The property was beautiful and the cottage was in great shape. The price was very reasonable. A great place to come back to after our days of exploring. The website is incredibly thorough with tips on what to bring and a long list of activities in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (9 nights) and we would return in a heartbeat. We felt welcome and were well taken care of. Although it is necessary to hire a car when staying in this part of Ireland, I was surprised at how quickly we became comfortable driving on left, even though we'd never done it before. If it's your first time driving on the left, I definitely suggest renting an automatic transmission. We give this property an A+!
3 Oct 2016.

Perfect setting for Mum's 90th
There is a double room and a single room downstairs, then a clever twin bed conversion upstairs, which has its own en-suite facilities. The kitchen is well equipped with fridge, freezer, oven and hob, plus the sink. A private terrace and back garden look down through a tree lined slope down to the water. A 2 minute walk gets you to Jane's bakery and shop. Kathryn, the housekeeper in the main house keeps everything in good order. The TV gets Irish broadcast TV, plus UK Freeview and a DVD player. It is a lovely place - warm and friendly, in a quiet location, but within easy car reach of natural and historical sites. Gerrit of Kerry Experience Tours (also found on this site) will do a wonderful tour. Jane's food is great. Brendan in the nearby shop/petrol station is taciturn, but helpful. The Blind Piper pub is a near drive, doing fantastic food and often a local band with traditional Irish folk music. Westcove is a great place for a rest, but also as a base for seeing more of Kerry, with its beaches, colourful hedgerows, sea, lakes and stark mountain landscapes. Highly recommended.
3 Sep 2016.

Wonderful scenery and so relaxing
Recently stayed in Garden Cottage which was great as we had my elderly mother (90) with us - we had everything we needed downstairs with only two steps between the lounge and hallway. Upstairs also has its own shower and toilet and the twin room was very cosy. If there was any problem we only had to contact the housekeeper for help (we had no problems by the way). The food is excellent (book in advance). The house and grounds are beautiful and a short walk down to the pier is also rewarding. There are so many restaurants and attractions within reasonable driving distance. Highly recommended
Michael B Sept, '16 UK (for a visit in August).

We enjoyed every second of being here
......we arrived the first day, the sea, the green, the flowers and trees were bathed in a magic glance.... Every day we went out for excursions and returned happy, full of impressions and with wind in our hair. The cosy Garden Cottage with its beautiful kitchen and lovely decorated rooms topped everything!! We felt so great and enjoyed every second of being here, especially in the mornings and evenings when the light became magic. the Irish people are lovely - friendly and helpful. In the Blind Piper - delicious food - and Freddies Bar we were warmly welcomed and enjoyed the Guinness, Vincent's charming service and the concert with Irish music. A big thank you to Katherine who was so helpful .... we are sure to come back again.
Bettina from Switzerland

Poet's review!
A couple of dark Guinness and then count the white sheep - a very nice bed for a wonderful sleep.Sometimes rain and very often we had sun - this is the right region to have some fun. A beautiful cottage to stay - this vacation, there is no other way.
Sven from Germany

wonderful stay<
From the time of our warm welcome to the last moments of dappled sunshine on the patio, we have had a wonderful stay in Garden Cottage. Our toddler had a great time in the surf and the adults enjoyed a thundering gallop along the sands at low tide (like a scene from a 'Discover Ireland' TV ad') ...The cottage was lovely and we took full advantage of the outdoor areas and BBQ (we are Australian after all...)
R & MT

wish we could have stayed longer
What a wonderful place you have here... We enjoyed every minute... The weather was perfect. We took lovely walks, went for drives, ate lovely food. We loved sitting on the patio, just listening to the birds and the sheep. We loved the beaches and wish we could have stayed longer.
P & K N & daughter (Toronto, Canada)

Pier Cottage: - More reviews can be found at:


TripAdvisor: Pier Cottage (Whole Cottage), Pier Cottage (East) and Pier Cottage (West).

HomeAway: Pier Cottage (Whole Cottage), Pier Cottage (East) and Pier Cottage (West).

Guest book reviews and emails from recent visitors:

"What a fabulous week we had at Pier Cottage! Even the weather co-operated!
We had 3 games of golf at Parknisilla,Ring of Kerry and Kenmare...all great, all quite different. We also enjoyed the kayaking, saw loads of seals and birds (wish we had remembered the binoculars)! Eating out was a joy especially at the Beach place..O’Carrolls, fresh fish and great service. The Blind Piper was fun too, especially on the music evening. Took a drive to the Skellig too which was beautiful. Ate at Smugglers Cove near Waterville, lovely fresh fish again!"
Rozzi & Johnny from UK - Easter 2019 - Pier Cottage West End

"Just to say that Pier Cottage was of course a dream. Interesting too was the family history written in the red ledger. Katherine was more than helpful, especially as far as the storm Hannah was concerned. The storm actually managed to loosen a few roof tiles - talk about the 'Wild Atlantic' - The electricity was down for a day but Katherine supplied us with flasks of hot water, and the emergency lights kicked in as soon as the mains supply went off. Howling winds and a little 'fisherman's friend' atmosphere. I thought I was hallucinating when I watched a dingy whirl by out the window, until the next day that was, when two worried men asked me whether I'd seen theirs. Apart from Jane's fine food at the tea room we found that O'Carroll's cove restaurant provided excellent fish. As concerns sightseeing, Derrynane dunes and beach take some beating!"
Kevin from Switzerland - April 2019 - Pier Cottage West End

Unbelievable Location; 5/5
Rick D, June 2018

Beautiful scenery and local seals which you can visit with the row boat.
July 2018

Beautiful, comfortable, peaceful; 5/5
Stephanie M, April 2018

The cottage is warm, roomy and well-equipped, surrounded by tranquility and natural beauty. The binder provided interesting and helpful information about the area. Katherine was on-the-spot helpful, thoughtful and welcoming. We wish we hadn't missed tea with Susannah, but we were out exploring. Next time!
Pier Cottage West End

Pier Cottage West End "Very nice place"
A good place to stay with friends on the very Ring of Kerry. The 10 of us were astonished to look at the seals laying on the rocks at the end of the garden every low tide... Seals were astonished to seeing humans so close to them too... The house is nice, well decorated and very cosy.
November 2016

Pier Cottage East End "Booking was very simple, any questions were promptly answered by the owner. "
It was a perfect location, so glad that we chose this one! Seal watching from the cottage every day, they come in very close to shore. The cottage itself was perfect for the three of us, we stayed on the smaller side of the cottage. Susannah was very responsive with everything I asked before the stay. Katherine, who manages the property, was very friendly and welcoming. That was definitely a trait that we found with everyone we encountered in County Kerry. We were there over St. Patrick's day, and went to the parade in nearby Sneem.It was really hard to leave the cottage, because the setting is just so beautiful and peaceful. I would recommend this to anyone traveling to this area.
Julie D, March 2018

Pier Cottage East End: Fantastic ever changing views with seals, and a million stars. "
We had a wonderful four day stay here with many adventures in the surrounding areas. Killarney NP, Torc Waterfall, Derrynane Beach and the highlight of the Skeillig Ring high cliffs. Katherine's home cooking was delicious, as well as, her great suggestions. The cottage was perfect with the seals to watch every morning.
Pat R, November 2017

Pier Cottage East End: "WOW What a beautiful setting "
The setting is idyllic and what a perfect start to every day. Greeting the seals and enjoying the serene atmosphere resulted in INSTANT relaxation. It is a bit off the beaten path but fulfilled and even exceeded every expectation
Maureen C, November 2017

Pier Cottage East End: "Beautiful & relaxing. Wish we could have stayed longer. "
The cottage is located in a dark sky reserve. The stars at night are amazing. We had fun watching the seals in the mornings right from the front door of the cottage.
Megan Y, Oct 2017

"Privacy , scenery, quiet , a taste of traditional Irish life. "
If you seek a quiet place to slow down and unwind look no farther than here. The seals , the waves , ocean and Mountain View act like a tonic to calm and allow you a place to rest. We enjoyed coffee and a scone with Jane every morning up by Westcove House before starting our hikes on the Kerry Way "accessible without a car from here". Don't skip the Blind Piper down the road for a pint,good food or Trad. Small wonder Susannah that you fell in love with Westcove. Thank You for sharing it.
James, US, May 2018

"Amazing place to stay"
Pier cottage is one of the most beautiful places on earth. The views and the hospitality is 5 star.
September 2017

"...If you are looking for peace and want to find the natural Ireland, you cannot find a better place."
Away from the tourist streams, but not so far away that you can also visit the sights of Kerry, Skellig and Cork. And in the evening go to the original Irish pub "The Black Shop", then you are immediately accepted and feel at home. The calm and friendly nature of the Irish has impressed us all deeply.
Ireland saw us the first time but certainly not the last time!
A.B. Austria, July 2017

Pier Cottage East End "Amazing!"
Pier Cottage is one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed. A lot of this is due to its stunning location, away from the main house of Westcove on its own little pensinsula, surrounded by water and nature. The ocean starts just after the front lawn, there is a seal colony in the little harbour and nothing could beat getting up in the morning and watching them from the living room window. There are also lots of birds and other lucky visitors have even spotted otter. The cottage is cosy, well equipped and clean. The bed is very comfortable and there is plenty of hot water in the bathroom.There is an open fire, which is great in winter and on colder days , when you just want to relax and read. Wifi is fast and free and there is a TV/DVD. There is a fantastic supply of information on what to do and see in the area, as well as restaurant recommendations and suggestions for walks. We have met both Susanna, who owns Westcove and Katherine, who is the caretaker for the cottages. Both ladies have been very welcoming, kind and helpfull and we felt very well looked after. Some of our friends thought it strange that we chose to visit Ireland in winter, but February is actually a great time to visit Kerry. We have been very lucky with the weather and had much of the beautiful walks and sights to ourselves. We booked for a week, but could easily have stayed two or three weeks. The pier cottage is a truly special and magic place and I cannot recommend it highly enough. I hope we will be back one day!
M & K, Feb 2016

wonderful vacation...Ireland's most beautiful area...most memorable...highly recommend...
We (couple + 5y old boy) have spent a wonderful 10 days vacation in the charming Pier House East End. We have selected the cottage mainly because of the unique remote location directly at the seafront in what we think is Ireland's most beautiful area and within driving distance to Kerry's main attractions. Everything was like it is described in the online-advertisements. The cottage is well equipped and provides everything that is required. We had extreme luck with the weather, as after an unusually rainy summer, there was for more than a week splendid weather throughout our total stay begin of September, with clear skies and temperatures that even allowed swims in the sea. Our 5 year old son enjoyed the "wildlife" on the coast just outside the door and was busy collecting all kind of sea animals like crabs, shrimps, worms etc. There is a small boat available to paddle over to a beautiful small beach on the opposite side. However, longer rides like to the seals sunbathing on the rocks some 100m away are not recommended due to strong currents. The owner Susannah and Kathrine the local housekeeper were very friendly and always helpful. Many attractions are in closest vicinity like the beautiful Derrynane House and Beach, the lovely village of Kenmare, Valentia island or the Skelligs. Also the walks along the rugged coast and the scenic drives on the Kerry, Beara and Dingle peninsulas all are highly recommended for nature lovers. Out of our so far 7 vacations in Ireland, this recent stay in Pier House was perhaps the most memorable one. I would highly recommend to all who are looking for a relaxing vacation in an idyllic scenery and that have an own vehicle to explore the area.
Michael, Austria

Idylic landscape and recreative atmosphere
Wishing for idylic landscape and recreative atmosphere we found exactly what we were hoping for in piercottage. surrounded by breathtaking countryside and blessed with beautiful weather we spend some of the most beautiful holidays. The lovingly restored cottage right at the see is a sight to see itself. The next food shops and plenty of sights are close but a car is required.
Angie, Deutschland

wonderful relaxing weeks
We have stayed at East End, Pier Cottage on two occasions and both times had wonderful relaxing weeks. It is such an idyllic location - quiet but within easy reach of beautiful beaches and scenic car rides. We whiled away the hours in front of the Cottage and were delighted when seals appeared in the waters below. We were fascinated to see the statue of Charlie Chaplin in nearby Waterville (he was a regular visitor). The Lakes of Killarney are within easy reach by car and are spectacular, especially if the mountain route is taken. A trip to the Skelligs was unmissable - the birds and seal sanctuary something only seen before on TV. There are so many suggestions for outings that many visits would be needed. Pier Cottage is the perfect holiday base for families or couples
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway.
RHY, UK

likely to return
Just to let you know that the cottage, the surroundings and the weather all surpassed our expectations, we had a wonderful time and all 3 of us are likely to return one day sooner or later.
VdeB, Netherlands

The best cottage in Kerry
I have stayed at Pier Cottage 9 or 10 times, at various stages of the Spring / +Summer season, and every time is a delight. The locals are incredibly friendly and +welcoming - real Irish hospitality!! - and I look forward to my next visit every time I leave.


Weddings and Celebrations:


Here are a couple of reviews transcribed from our Guest Book after weddings in Summer 2018:

Thank you for the most magical week we could have imagined. People came from the US and the UK to celebrate with us and all had a wonderful time. The house was perfect, the weather was perfect, the food was perfect, thank you.
Choosing Westcove as a wedding venue from only pictures online was, in a word, stressful. But Katherine and her staff made us feel welcome and assured us that our wedding would be awesome. It was more than that. It was perfect. We cannot thank everyone here enough for their hospitality, and willingness to welcome our family and friends with open arms. We will not forget a moment of our time here and are already looking forward to our next trip!
Left in August 18 in Westcove House Guest Book

"I can't tell you how much we loved our time at Westcove! "
Everything was perfection from the moment we arrived. Katherine was so kind and helpful. The food was incredible - I have never seen so many cleared plates at a wedding! We could not have dreamed of a more perfect time, and everyone who stayed agreed as well! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home withus !The House looks gorgeous in the background of our wedding photographs.
A & S Wedding August 2018

"...None of us could get over how beautiful it was!... "
We had such a lovely time holding our wedding here! It was so special to have all our guests in one spot. None of us could get over how beautiful it was! Katherine and her staff were excellent on our special day.

Travelled from Alaska to this magical area and really got a sense of the Irish culture and value system - the countryside is beautiful
M.M. U.S.A. 2017>

The most magical place for a wedding
Trying to write about Westcove makes me wish I were a better writer. How can I explain in a TripAdvisor review what a special place it is? We decided to do a destination wedding in Ireland and so wanted to find a place that showed off the beauty of the country, that would make all of our guests feel at home and that would leave us with warm and happy memories for years to come. Westcove was all that and more. We rented out all three Westcove properties and Pier Cottage for our wedding week. Everyone had their own space, but there was also lots of room for socializing. No one could quite believe how stunning everything was. Katherine and her team were a dream from start to finish. They did an incredible wedding meal and we didn't have to worry about anything. Kerry itself was simply amazing. Guests golfed, hiked, went horseback riding, went on day trips, and overall just had a wonderful time. I remember sitting in the sunshine the morning of my wedding and thinking that moments like this were what life was all about.
Left on Nov 27, 2016, for a stay in Aug 2016

 


Home | Westcove House | The Stables | Pier Cottage | Garden Cottage | Location | Activities | Rates/Availablity/Booking | Contact | Reviews | FAQs