Westcove

Westcove Estate Reviews, Stables Reviews, Garden Cottage Reviews, Pier Cottage Reviews, Wedding/Celebration Reviews


Westcove House and Westcove Estate


Westcove House Is a Special Place
With a break in the Covid-19 restrictions, our family - fifteen of us - were able to spend a week there in August having booked the House and Garden Cottage. It was memorable. The House is full of character with impressive family portraits, grand rooms, antique Austrian furniture and memorabilia from China. The accommodation is comfortable with all modern conveniences. The kitchen is superbly stocked. The setting is amazing, perched above Westcove Harbour and Kenmare Bay. The Soay sheep, in the field in front of the House, are your companions for breakfast on the terrace as you savour a hot croissant from the adjacent Westcove Bakery and gaze across the water at the mountains of Beara.
There is so much to do in south Kerry. Our highlights included daily swims in the clear waters of nearby Westcove harbour, or White Strand, or O'Carroll's Cove or Derrynane beach. We hiked the Walk of the Planets with breathtaking scenery on the Kerry Way from Westcove to Caherdaniel. The reds and oranges of the fuschia and montbretia adorn the route. We visited Derrynane House which was fascinating as was the visit to Staigue Stone Fort. Some of us golfed in Parknasilla and others (no names mentioned) enjoyed the Skelligs Chocolate factory. Covid-19 prohibited our trip to the Skellig islands as no boats were allowed to land. We learnt about seaweed from a local expert and then spent an afternoon foraging and eating seaweed! At night, we enjoyed cocktails before dinner in the bar and all dined together in the dining room sharing intergenerational stories.
Susannah, the owner, was most charming to deal with and Katherine was very helpful on site. She prepared lasagne and apple crumble for us on arrival and encouraged us to use the herb garden.
Overall, our holiday in Westcove House was really enjoyable. It is a brilliant place for a family to get together and form lifelong memories. We strongly recommend it.
MS, August 2020

Ideal Country Setting For a Special Group Getaway!
My group and I rented out all three properties on the Westcove Estate for a week-long group reunion with old friends. We are all hikers/ climbers so this was the ideal location for exploring the amazing scenery along the ring of Kerry. The properties were beautiful and it was obvious a lot of love went into them, with gorgeous old rooms, garden space and a patio with a fantastic view across the rugged bay from the main house. Cleaners came twice a week to freshen up the living space, and there was a freezer full of home-made meals for us to purchase if we wanted. Being right on the coast, swimming at the nearby sandy beaches was a great way to start each morning! Definitely recommend for special group events.
LG, July 2020

Westcove Wonders
Westcove is the family home of Susannah Adlington and is very much treated like that. It is a lovely manor house of grand proportions and secret passages used in days gone by as servant access halls. The cottage and stables are charming and perfect for special guests and kids. There are plenty of activities on the grounds to keep kids entertained and adults marvelling at the views and tranquil rural setting of the rugged Irish coastline.
The staff takes great care of the property and the guests. We used them for several nights of cooking and enjoyed every meal. All of the suggestions made by Susannah for local storytellers, musicians and dance teachers were marvellous and made our evenings enchanting. The longer we stayed, the more we relied on Susannah's local attraction suggestions and found that there is enough within a minute’s drive from Westcove to keep our diverse group entertained for two weeks. The boat captains and guides were all first rate.
Overall, my family and I were very impressed by Westcove in every regard. We have rented many homes and villas around the world and Westcove was second to none.
Richard from New York, USA, July 2019

The Perfect Irish Vacation Home
We just got back from a family reunion at Westcove House. We rented the entire estate, sans Pier Cottage, for a week and had a wonderful time.
All the buildings on the estate are comfortable, charming and well equipped. There are plenty of places for people to gather (and get away from each other). In the evenings, when the weather was nice, we had blazing wood fires in the outdoor fireplace on the porch of the main house overlooking the beautiful view of Kenmare Bay. When the weather was a little more Irish, we sat around glowing turf fires inside.
The Westcove area is amazingly beautiful with tons of activities to choose from. We went horseback riding, surfing, sea kayaking, golfing, and took trips to Skellig Michael. One of my favourite things to do was to hike up over the hill to the Blind Piper and back. Check out the Mighty Munch fish and chips truck.
Susannah, the owner, is charming and a joy to work with. I very much enjoyed our phone calls.
Katherine, the caretaker, is very nice and accommodating. She took great care of us and prepared a delicious celebratory sit-down dinner for our whole group.
The Westcove Estate is the perfect place to stay while visiting Southwest Kerry. We will be recommending it to all our friends and returning as soon as we can.
Tim L – July 2019

Great Golf Accommodation
We had 12 Golfers staying at Westcove House (including the Stables & Garden Cottage) for 5 nights as we golfed various courses around Kerry. It was an eclectic and spacious location with plenty of room to spread out. We took advantage of the catering and were very glad we did. We had hot breakfasts every morning and a warm, home cooked meal waiting for us each night we returned home. The meals were delicious and we will never forget coming home out of the cold, rain and sleet to a hot, delicious, homemade Irish stew!
Having a home base like Westcove House made our golf trip very relaxing and very cost effective. There is plenty of space to either gather and enjoy stories of the day or retreat and drown your sorrows privately.
Location is good, we made it as far as Old Head and back in a day. We also played Waterville, Hogs Head (both very close), Tralee and Adare Manor. There are a number of other options in the area.
Susannah, the owner, was great to work with and very attentive. Katherine and Bernie made our stay wonderful and were great cooks. They were always on time in the mornings and very accommodating around our arrival times for evening meals. I highly recommend taking advantage of their catering services. They were also a wealth of local knowledge and information which made our stay even more memorable.
We will definitely stay here again the next time we are golfing in south west Ireland!
Harper from Brooklin, Canada, October 2019

Westcove Access to the full Ring of Kerry Experience
Westcove is an idyllic setting from which to enjoy the Ring of Kerry and its rugged beauty and amazing history and activities. We had 18-21 guests with us over two weeks and every one was thrilled with the accommodations, the helpfulness of the staff, the dining experiences (from formal dinners to BBQ's) and the wide-ranging local activities recommended by the owners. We also used many of the recommended entertainers from storytellers to musicians to dance instructors and were enchanted by them all. The bakery next door was accommodative of all our morning bakery needs.
Overall, we found the Ring of Kerry to be one of the best vacations our family and friends every had (and we have arranged many similar gatherings all around the world). It far exceeded our expectations as an overall visitor venue and a place we will always remember. What better recommendation can be given than to say that this is a place where lasting memories are made and seared into your psyche.
R from USA, June 2019

Bliss and Happiness
We were 22 people and two dogs arranged in three houses around a wonderful courtyard, overlooking a wonderful landscape and sea. The main house is full of charm and character, strangely refreshingly familiar, as if we had always been there. The stable and cottage took two families who adored everything. Christmas went too fast, log fires, enormous meals, bracing walks, a swim on the day, hill climbing, and a yearn to return. Why this familiar feeling - it's a sign of something known, quality, character, and a great host to co-ordinate and arrange with, Katherine, in site was magic, directing us to shop, and pub, catering for everything. Sat Chit Anananda!
Guest from London, UK, December 2018

Just Perfect
Stayed for 6 days with family and friends visiting from USA England and Ireland to celebrate my cousins very special 50th birthday. First impressions WOW... what a beautiful old Irish country home (castle I believe back in the day). It truly felt like home with all the home comforts. A group of 28 we used all 3 dwellings, house, cottage and stables. Days spent driving and walking around the stunningly beautiful Wild Atlantic Way, I had forgotten just how beautiful Kerry is. We re visited the quaint little villages of Valentia, Portmagee, Ballinskelligs, Waterville, Caherdaniel, the busy bustling Kenmare, the beautiful postcard village of Sneem, all the while drinking in the seas, cliffs, mountains, and beautiful fresh air. We drank and ate local delicious home cooked food in the pubs, sang and danced to the music. We re-gathered every evening at 7 for pre drinks and delicious canapés on the terrace overlooking the bay before dinner was served by Katherine and her little gang of Merry women. we were truly spoilt all week with their home cooked delights. One night they prepared a lovely bbq despite a little downpour mid cooking the lovely ladies still managed to deliver. One evening we held a special party in the stables for Janet’s 50th, we had a Ceili band play, sing and teach us old traditional Irish dances... great fun had by all. This is a house built for ‘a gathering’ And that’s exactly what we did. To say it was enjoyed by us all is an understatement. Westcove you are beautiful, I really hope to visit again soon. Katherine and all the ladies, huge thanks you made us all so welcome and spoiled us.
Jenny, August 2018

A true fairy tale setting with exceptional homes and hospitality
We stayed here for 1 week with extended family and friends. We had more than enough room for our group of 12 but enjoyed the luxury of the extra space. The terrace of the main house overlooks the cove and bay. That was my favourite spot. I loved kayaking right from the house out into the bay with the seals. The bakery nearby was such a treat. The coordinator and owner gave us great help and recommendations. We did the Skellig trip with John, music night with Pat, storytelling with Batt and the seaweed walk. All were great additions. There are great small towns nearby with idyllic beaches and culture and pubs. Great local history. Westcove quickly became my favourite place in Ireland and I can't wait to return someday.
David from San Francisco, USA, June 2018

A memorable week with friends and family
My husband and Family were recently so lucky to be invited to join our special friends and their family to celebrate a special birthday. The week we spent at Westcove exceeded all our expectations and we had a fantastic time here enjoying every minute of Westcove and the surrounding areas.
Our friends rented the House, the Stables and the Cottage. We all enjoyed the accommodation which for our group size of 28 was very comfortable, clean, spacious and had all the amenities you would wish for! We were all so very happy we did not want to leave! For our group everything was just perfect, we all gathered together in the dining room for breakfast, dinner, and the living room with a bar in the evenings for drinks, games, songs and storytelling. One night, we had a ceilidh in the games room in the Stables which was so much fun! A local group played for us while we danced and made the most amazing memories we will never forget!
The staff at Westcove are amazing so friendly and full of advice and recommendations if asked! The meals prepared by Katherine and her staff were lovely and always tasty great to return to on some nights after a busy day exploring the Wild Atlantic Way.
We had a busy week enjoying the surrounding areas including parts of the Ring of Kerry, beautiful beaches, trips into Killarney, walking, golf, shopping, a trip over to Valentina on the car ferry , visiting the local restaurants and amazing local pubs with local music and more.
An amazing week at Westcove with the best friends and Family we could wish for enhanced only by the beauty of this place! We would return in a heartbeat.
Till we all meet again... Thank you xx
August 2018

A Perfect Vacation
Wow! This place was a bit of heaven on earth - my family (all 19 of us) stayed in the Westcove House and Stables to celebrate my mother's 80th birthday. Katherine and her staff are wonderfully accommodating and the food and service was excellent! We enjoyed being on the water, breath-taking scenery, and easy access to many Kerry activities and outings: The Skellig Islands, horseback riding, walking the Kerry Way, great pubs, Killarney National Park, Kenmare market, church in Caherdaniel. Refreshing and inspiring! Thanks for sharing your beautiful properties and grounds with us - we feel lucky to have stayed there!
Luke, August 2018

Simply the best vacation we have ever had!
We were here as a very special celebration of my Mum's 80th birthday. Her grandparents came to the US from Ireland and she always wanted to come here and see it. Dad decided to give her this amazing birthday gift for her and also for all of us. So many great experiences, but the best were the family dinners together. Amazing tastes of Ireland that we experienced together as a family, relaxing and talking and growing closer. Thank you Katherine, Colette & Bernie especially for making this trip so special for us, giving us memories to last a lifetime!
July 2018

Back to the top of Reviews

The Stables


Guest book reviews and emails from recent visitors:
(as The Stables is usually let as an annex to Westcove House for large groups, there are, unsurprisingly, fewer individual reviews)

Excellent!
Excellent, fab house, ideal for kids and all the family, amazing grounds and sea view!!!!
Can’t wait to go back!
Kinley, Sep 2020

An Idyllic Week
We spent an idyllic week in The Stables in August 2020. The ideal place to get away from pandemic worries! We were two families with 6 teenagers and a dog. So much space and beautiful views. The weather was stunning every day and in the evening there were plenty of rooms for everyone to get peace and quiet. We swam every day and ate well every evening- a few nights we got food prepared by Katherine which was such a treat. I can’t recommend it enough!
JD, August 2020

Staycation!
Fantastic week in The Stables at Westcove. A great property for families and friends. Lots of space and beautiful grounds. Lasagne and chicken leek pie from Katherine a real treat too. Highly recommend.
Aug 2020

Great for families We had a fantastic time at Westcove staying in the Stables in July 2020. What a fabulous house and location. The Stables is great for families with lots of green space around the house for the kids to play and when the rain comes (quite likely even in July!) the playroom has loads of space for the kids to do their own thing and play table tennis and chill out. Our kids painted and did lots of art work as there was so much around to inspire them. It’s only a 2 minute walk to Westcove pier which is practically your own private pier and we did loads of pier jumps there (wet suits on!) which the kids loved. Great fun.
Nearby you have the fabulous beach at Derrynane with two lovely strands and some great walks on the Kerry Way. There are other nearby beaches at the little inlets and coves which are great, secluded and great for rockpoolimg.
Local pubs were closed when we were there except those that serve food. We loved The Blind Piper in nearby Caherdaniel. Great food and a great pint.
Finally, a word for the hosts: Susannah who owns the property is a real gem and nothing is too much trouble for her when you are making a booking. When you are there, Katherine looks after all your needs and is very helpful with things to do and can make pre prepared food for your arrival.
Michael – July 2020

Would definitely come back again
We stayed in The Stables as part of pre wedding celebrations. It was a lovely stay, relaxing and beautiful views all around. Would definitely come back again. The staff are very helpful and friendly, in particular Katherine and Susannah who were extremely helpful and accommodating. Thank you for such a wonderful stay!!
Danica - Australia - April 2018

Great for a big Family
We had a wonderful Christmas at the Stables. Our 5 children ranging in age from 27- 16 really enjoyed their time in West Cove. The Stables is perfect for a big group like ours and with lovely comfortable beds and bedrooms with plenty of space, no one felt crowded. The Christmas decorations were a lovely added touch and made our 16 year old, reluctant traveller, much happier about being away from home at Christmas.
The kitchen is very well equipped and anything I thought I needed was there.
The sitting room, cosy and made really toasty with the open fire, perfect for long winter evenings after bracing walks on the long strand at Derrynane.
Although we know the area well, it was a treat to stay somewhere new and explore another part of this special area. Being able to walk down to the Pier early in the morning or just before dark was great. the setting of the house is just picture perfect, sea, tiny coves and with the backdrop of mountains, which were obligingly snow covered. We were able to enjoy the spectacular thunderstorms from the comfortable warm vantage point of The Stables and spent our evening playing board games, some we brought with us but some were in the house. The jigsaw of the car kept us busy for the time we were there in fact we nearly had to extend the stay to finish it...
So as you can see, we loved the house and the setting.
Family from Tipperary, December 2018

Best place for bigger crew of friends to stay in Kerry!!!
From the beginning to the very end I cannot find a single flaw to this outstanding holiday.
1) Location is superb!!! From one side when you take shower you see the beautiful Kerry mountains, on the other side when you wake up, right from the bed the first thing what you see is a fantastic view on a sea and the always green coast around.
2) The house itself is perfect!!! There is so much space everywhere you can do literally anything! Outside it's a massive garden where we had a big barbecue and laugh, inside then after few beers, we had a tournament in table tennis and table football. Everything works well, the beds are big and comfy.
3) My friend forgot her job badge and the lady in charge of the Stables found it and sent it by post to her right away all the way to Dublin without even charging!
Big Thanks to Katherine - the property manager and Susannah - the owner
I can't wait to go there again !!!
Pavel, September 2018

Back to the top of Reviews

Garden Cottage


Garden Cottage is a slice of heaven!
Our stay at Garden Cottage was delightful. Very clean and updated, yet still keeping with the charm of a beautiful 300 yr old cottage. The grounds and location were breath-taking. Enjoying our morning breakfast on the patio overlooking the bay and sheep and goats and horse was picturesque. Katherine, the caretaker was very helpful and we really enjoyed her vegetable quiche she prepared for us! As well as The bakery/cafe on the estate was excellent!! We enjoyed a brisk hike up the mountain across the way. The panoramic views were stunning! We will definitely stay here again, next year! 5 star rating from The Frye Family!
Karen F, Sep 2019

After spending a wonderful first week in pier cottage with extended family, a smaller group of us decamped to the garden cottage for a second week on the grounds of Westcove. It was a perfect location for just the four of us. The garden cottage itself was a little more modern than pier cottage but without the stunning sea front location. It was a different vibe and we enjoyed the charms it had to offer on the grounds of the larger Westcove house overlooking the picturesque harbour below. It’s a deceptively spacious cottage and served as the perfect base for day trips to the surrounding area. Westcove is a hidden gem.
Alex W - August 2020

Irish idyll
The cottage was everything we expected, and more. The cottage was spotless inside, with comfortable beds, well-equipped kitchen, plenty of hot water, and wonderful surroundings.
Susannah made preparation easy and anticipated all our questions before our visit. Katherine made arrival smooth and seamless.
Ryan, June 2019

Westcove Wonders
This is an excellent property that is very accommodative for a large family/friends group. It is pleasant in its setting and views and the staff is very helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our magical stay for two weeks.
Richard M, New York, June 2019

Lovely break
Sensitively restored, well equipped cottage. Katherine was a lovely host. We will return :)
Ronan from Ireland, Aug 2019

One of the most beautiful areas of Ireland!
This is a wonderful place to stay in one of the most beautiful areas of Ireland. It was comfortable and quiet. The property was beautiful and the cottage was in great shape. The price was very reasonable. A great place to come back to after our days of exploring. The website is incredibly thorough with tips on what to bring and a long list of activities in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (9 nights) and we would return in a heartbeat. We felt welcome and were well taken care of. Although it is necessary to hire a car when staying in this part of Ireland, I was surprised at how quickly we became comfortable driving on left, even though we'd never done it before. If it's your first time driving on the left, I definitely suggest renting an automatic transmission. We give this property an A+!
3 Oct 2016

Wish we could have stayed longer
What a wonderful place you have here... We enjoyed every minute... The weather was perfect. We took lovely walks, went for drives, ate lovely food. We loved sitting on the patio, just listening to the birds and the sheep. We loved the beaches and wish we could have stayed longer.
P & K N & daughter - Toronto, Canada

Wonderful scenery and so relaxing
Recently stayed in Garden Cottage which was great as we had my elderly mother (90) with us - we had everything we needed downstairs with only two steps between the lounge and hallway. Upstairs also has its own shower and toilet and the twin room was very cosy. If there was any problem we only had to contact the housekeeper for help (we had no problems by the way). The food is excellent (book in advance). The house and grounds are beautiful and a short walk down to the pier is also rewarding. There are so many restaurants and attractions within reasonable driving distance. Highly recommended.
Michael B Sept - UK - August 2017

Wonderful Stay
From the time of our warm welcome to the last moments of dappled sunshine on the patio, we have had a wonderful stay in Garden Cottage. Our toddler had a great time in the surf and the adults enjoyed a thundering gallop along the sands at low tide (like a scene from a 'Discover Ireland' TV ad') ...The cottage was lovely and we took full advantage of the outdoor areas and BBQ (we are Australian after all...)
R & MT

Back to the top of Reviews

Pier Cottage


Quarantining at Pier Cottage
My wife and I spent 14 days quarantining at Pier Cottage East End, and the cottage and grounds were perfect for us (and exactly as advertised on the VRBO site). Though the weather was often cold and rainy, there were plenty of breaks of crisp sunshine and rainbows daily to enjoy the immediate environs out of doors (seals on the rocks every low tide) in the fresh air whilst maintaining the quarantine restrictions. Likewise, the indoor space was sufficient for me to do a 5 day silent retreat while my wife had plenty of space to pass her time reading, exercising, and engaging her art. Katherine, the absolutely charming caretaker, shopped for us and cooked and delivered delicious dishes we ordered. Life couldn't have been easier. Susannah was also phenomenal to work with in the lead up to our visit. We already miss the simple life, and would most definitely be thrilled for an opportunity to visit Pier Cottage again!
G & J from New York, November 2020

Beautiful location
Our extended family return again and again, as we always have the most wonderful time there. It’s so cosy well equipped, clean and Katherine is always at hand willing to help. It’s situated in the most beautiful location with stunning views. It really is a hidden gem on the Ring of Kerry. We will definitely be back soon again.
Sharon, Co Wicklow 2020

Location location location!
What a wonderful cottage in a truly unique setting! Opening the door in the morning to the view of boats moored in the bay, the seals sitting on the rocks - being able to walk down to the little pebble beach a stones throw from the door was amazing!
A great location to explore the ring of Kerry and the Skellig ring from! The Blind Piper pub nearby did great pub food and allowed our dogs in.
Nearby walks to Staigue Fort, Lambs Head and Derrynane Beach filled our chilled-out days - and we Bbqed at night using the bbq supplied in the shed! We could hear the seals crying or singing as the sun set!
The cottage was clean, cosy and warm! We lit the fire every night and the electric heaters kept It warm throughout! Loved it and hope to come back some day!
Andrea, September 2020 – Pier Cottage West End

The Most Magical Place!
We have just returned from our holiday in Ireland. In your original confirmation email to me I think you said I don’t think you will be disappointed - what an understatement - this is the most magical place. I now understand why my parents always loved it so much. The view from Pier Cottage is just amazing, we barbecued most evening on the rocks at the end of the garden as we just wanted to drink in that scenery. It was an action packed week - the family went out in the boat with Ray and caught loads of mackerel (which we barbecued for supper), we went riding on Derrynane beach, walked from the cottage to the Blind Piper several times (and back!), and visited the seals on the rocks most evenings, as well as loads of walks with our dog on Derrynane and Waterville beaches. Loved it all!
Katherine was so warm and helpful, and her home cooked dishes were delicious.
Jo - 17-23 August 2019 - Pier Cottage West End

It’s hard to imagine a more idyllic location.
Pier cottage is set right on the sea front overlooking Kenmare bay. It’s the magical location that has kept me returning to Westcove since I first stayed here as a child. Stepping out of the front door of the cottage to take in the vista of sea, mountains, rocky shore and sandy beaches in the distance is truly memorable. All the amenities of Caherdaniel and Derrynane are a short drive away. The cottage itself is cosy and comforting with all the facilities you could wish for. It’s a truly memorable place to spend some down time. Katherine was always available if needed and helped us settle in quickly. The meals supplied by Katherine were also fantastic and offered a great alternative to self-catering when needed. Also, a big thank you to Susannah who managed to re-arrange our booking when COVID hit,ensuring we still got a holiday this year. Two weeks in Westcove was just what we needed to rest and revitalize.
Alex W - August 2020

East End Cottage has everything you need is cozy & in a great location.
Excellent. Recommend ordering Katherine's food, delicious & waiting in the freezer on arrival.
Alice, August 2020 – Pier Cottage East End

A special feeling
We had a wonderful week at Pier Cottage - the feeling of the place, the conversations with Katherine & her wonderful food - this week has contributed to our family becoming stay in Ireland converts!
Lorraine, July 2020 – Pier Cottage East End

Lovely cottage, wonderful setting
What an absolutely beautiful place. There is a wealth of information left describing the best places to visit but you don't have to go far- the views from the property are jaw-dropping. Will definitely stay again!
Richard, February 2020 – Pier Cottage East End

Relaxing
What an absolutely great place to stay. We loved the location and style of the property. We walked through the door and immediately felt at home, it's very comfortable and has amazing views through the windows. We felt we could ask Katherine for any information needed and met Susannah and her friends for coffee. We were very sad to leave!
Steven, October 2019 – Pier Cottage East End

Great family retreat
We loved staying at East End Pier Cottage. We had beautiful weather so in between our sightseeing trips we also enjoyed the lawn area, sandy beach and the row boat to go out and see the seals up close. We booked 5 days in the middle of our trip (over Easter) so we had built in rest days at the cozy cottage. All the conveniences, including laundry, while keeping the charm of a cottage atmosphere.
Jenny, April 2019 – Pier Cottage East End

Great stay
Lovely cottage, great views. The cottage was well provisioned, and comfortably accommodated our family. We will definitely return.
September 2020 – Pier Cottage West End

East End Cottage has everything you need is cozy & in a great location.
Excellent. Recommend ordering Katherine's food, delicious & waiting in the freezer on arrival.
Alice, August 2020 – Pier Cottage East End

What a fabulous week we had at Pier Cottage! Even the weather co-operated!
We had 3 games of golf at Parknisilla,Ring of Kerry and Kenmare...all great, all quite different. We also enjoyed the kayaking, saw loads of seals and birds (wish we had remembered the binoculars)! Eating out was a joy especially at the Beach place, O’Carrolls, fresh fish and great service. The Blind Piper was fun too, especially on the music evening. Took a drive to the Skellig too which was beautiful. Ate at Smugglers Cove near Waterville, lovely fresh fish again!
Rozzi & Johnny from UK - Easter 2019 - Pier Cottage West End

We loved Pier Cottage!
Everything about Pier Cottage was wonderful. The location on the Ring of Kerry makes it ideal. The views from the cottage were gorgeous. It was super clean, and had everything we needed to prepare meals. Susannah and Katherine were so helpful and made us feel very welcome. The pier cottage will definitely be on our list of places to stay on our next trip to Ireland.
Jennifer, October 2018 – Pier Cottage West End

Look no further - the perfect choice!
We recently rented both of the adjoining cottages in mid-winter!
If you have ever dreamed of being all alone in an authentic and cozy Irish stone cottage with blazing log fires overlooking the most magnificent views you could ever imagine, with its own little beach and a colony of seals keeping an eye on you on your own private little peninsular then you have definitely found the right place.
Perfectly clean and perfectly equipped from kitchen to bedrooms to living rooms to utility room, log fire and stone interior, views of the hills behind you and the sea and mountains in front we just didn't believe our luck in finding this gem.
A friendly little pub and village shop just 15 minutes walk away and then if you take the car, the unforgettable drives around one of the most stunning coasts in Europe.
Susannah cannot do enough to make your stay as perfect as possible and as for Katherine, always discreetly on call to help but only when and if you contact her. Don't miss her delicious cottage pie which, amongst other dishes, she will discreetly leave in the fridge for you on order.
If you are not convinced yet, watch the film 'Ryan's Daughter' (filmed nearby) get the magic, and then live it at Pier Cottage. It's quintessentially Ireland and you won't regret a minute of it.
Thank-you Susannah in England and thank-you Katherine in Westcove for all that Irish magic, we'll be back as you may well imagine!!!!!
Stuart, January 2018 – Pier Cottage East and West End

Paradise on the Ring of Kerry
Pier Cottage is one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed. A lot of this is due to its stunning location, away from the main house of Westcove on its own little pensinsula, surrounded by water and nature. The ocean starts just after the front lawn, there is a seal colony in the little harbour and nothing could beat getting up in the morning and watching them from the living room window. There are also lots of birds and other lucky visitors have even spotted otter.
The cottage is cosy, well equipped and clean. The bed is very comfortable and there is plenty of hot water in the bathroom. There is an open fire, which is great in winter and on colder days , when you just want to relax and read. Wifi is fast and free and there is a TV/DVD.
There is a fantastic supply of information on what to do and see in the area, as well as restaurant recommendations and suggestions for walks. We have met both Susannah, who owns Westcove and Katherine, who is the caretaker for the cottages. Both ladies have been very welcoming, kind and helpful and we felt very well looked after.
Some of our friends thought it strange that we chose to visit Ireland in winter, but February is actually a great time to visit Kerry. We have been very lucky with the weather and had much of the beautiful walks and sights to ourselves.
We booked for a week, but could easily have stayed two or three weeks.
Pier Cottage is a truly special and magic place and I cannot recommend it highly enough. I hope we will be back one day!
M & K February 2016

Back to the top of Reviews


Weddings and Celebrations:


The Most Amazing Week at Westcove!
We had the most amazing week in Westcove House and Garden Cottage in August! We luckily were able to hold our small family wedding at Westcove, with the ceremony outside overlooking the stunning views! All the catering for the day was arranged and prepared by Katherine and her team. All the food was delicious and they helped make the day so special with the relaxed atmosphere they created.
Our guests stayed in the main house, while we stayed in Garden Cottage. Both houses have everything you need for a perfect week in Kerry. The main house is beautifully decorated, we loved the bar snug and the secret library! Garden Cottage was set up perfectly with a lovely private terrace to relax on. loved being so close to the Westcove Harbour, every day we would be down for a swim, kayak or paddleboard. My sister's three kids loved learning to swim on the little beach opposite and visiting the seals in the harbour!
We would not hesitate in recommending Westcove to anyone, hopefully we will be back soon!
P&S G, from Scotland August 2020

Dream Wedding
Our destination wedding at Westcove was, in a word: perfection. It exceeded our expectations and our guests couldn’t believe what an idyllic setting Westcove provided. Upon our arrival, Katherine finalized our wedding day details and gave us lovely location suggestions for wedding photos. Jane showed us around her bakery and let us sample our delicious wedding cake.
The whole week was magical, with memorable excursions, including: a guided tour of the Ring of Kerry, Eco Tour of the Skellig Michael islands, horseback riding on Derrynane Beach, and multiple trips to the Blind Piper for trad music!
The highlight of our trip was our wedding ceremony on the terrace of Westcove House, followed by a cocktail hour, dinner and dancing. Katherine’s cooking was superb and received many compliments from our US & UK guests. Our guests even surprised us by booking the band from the Blind Piper to play in the stables during our reception! Katherine graciously accommodated the last-minute change. Everything fell so neatly into place, it was as if we had an entire village helping to give us the best day possible.
We fully intend to return for an anniversary trip someday. (Our friends and family also plan to join us!)
Ryan & Collette Whittaker - Minnesota, USA - June 7, 2019

Wedding Reception at Westcove
We had our wedding at Gougane Barra, and stayed at Westcove for the week. About 26 people stayed in the 3 buildings. Absolutely beautiful location. Staff was extremely helpful. Had our reception in the stables room, with a great meal, catering, bar tender, and DJ all provided/arranged by Westcove. No hassles. Could not of had a better stay! Plus, running trails up the hill across the street.
Katherine was exceptionally helpful prior to and throughout our stay.
Hopefully will get the chance to go back in the future and enjoy the experience again! Also, there is a DJI Mavic Pro somewhere in the water off the estate if anyone finds it!
We could not recommend it more!
June 2019

The most perfect wedding we could have asked for......
We had our wedding in Westcove House at the end of June 2019. We found it over 2 years ago and fell in love with the place immediately and knew it was perfect for our wedding. To say that it didn't disappoint is a massive understatement, we are both still pinching ourselves at the wedding we had.
Our families came done for the whole week and some said they felt they had arrived on the set of a movie they were so blown away by the house and its setting. The house, stables and cottages fitted everyone perfectly and the accommodation was lovely.
Katherine was so helpful and supportive throughout the process of planning our day and the team she works with were so professional on the day itself. It was an intimate family wedding in front of the main house with dinner and party after in the converted stables. We were able to decorate the room ourselves which made it very personal, in fact the flexibility we were allowed while designing the whole day made everything feel very personal.
Not only is Westcove House in an amazing location for a wedding it is also really accessible to large chunks of Co. Kerry. We ran out of time to see everything but have already booked our return visit.
Thank you for everything Westcove House....see you next year!!
Fiona, June 2019

Memories to cherish and make us smile for evermore
We had the best week imaginable here. We had a magical wedding celebration with all our friends and family thanks to Katherine, Susannah, Bernie, Michael and all the gang at Westcove. It exceeded all of our expectations and we have memories to cherish and make us smile for evermore. Cannot thank you all enough and will return many more times in the future.
Amy & Ben from Listowel, County Kerry, May 2019

We could not have had a more incredible experience
We had the most incredible week with 25 of our closest family and friends to celebrate our wedding. We could not have had a more incredible experience. Our family, ranging from 18 months to 87, had the most beautiful time. We will remember this place forever, but will sure to be back for more family events!! Thank you, thank you, thank you, we could not recommend this place any higher!
Sarah & Marc from Rochester, New York, June 2019

Here are more comments from some of Sarah & Marc's relatives:

“Beautiful week! You worked very hard to make our daughter's wedding memorable. Thank you. Loved the Cottage and the views”

“We will remember Westcove fondly - the gorgeous view, beautiful buildings, and delicious food. This was the perfect place to celebrate a wedding. Thank you for making it a lovely time!”

“What an amazing experience we have had here at Westcove! You were all so helpful and kind and hospitable! The views and weather couldn't have been more perfect! The wedding, cocktail hour and reception were handled so nicely and with grace. It was truly like a dream! I wish you and anyone else who comes here, all the best. This is a magical spot.”

“Thank you for the most magical week we could have imagined. People came from the US and the UK to celebrate with us and all had a wonderful time. The house was perfect, the weather was perfect, the food was perfect, thank you.”

“Choosing Westcove as a wedding venue from only pictures online was, in a word, stressful. But Katherine and her staff made us feel welcome and assured us that our wedding would be awesome. It was more than that. It was perfect. We cannot thank everyone here enough for their hospitality, and willingness to welcome our family and friends with open arms. We will not forget a moment of our time here and are already looking forward to our next trip!”

I can't tell you how much we loved our time at Westcove!
Everything was perfection from the moment we arrived. Katherine was so kind and helpful. The food was incredible - I have never seen so many cleared plates at a wedding! We could not have dreamed of a more perfect time, and everyone who stayed agreed as well! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us! The House looks gorgeous in the background of our wedding photographs.
A & S Wedding August 2018

The most magical place for a wedding
Trying to write about Westcove makes me wish I were a better writer. How can I explain in a review what a special place it is? We decided to do a destination wedding in Ireland and so wanted to find a place that showed off the beauty of the country, that would make all of our guests feel at home and that would leave us with warm and happy memories for years to come. Westcove was all that and more. We rented out all three Westcove properties and Pier Cottage for our wedding week. Everyone had their own space, but there was also lots of room for socializing. No one could quite believe how stunning everything was. Katherine and her team were a dream from start to finish. They did an incredible wedding meal and we didn't have to worry about anything. Kerry itself was simply amazing. Guests golfed, hiked, went horseback riding, went on day trips, and overall just had a wonderful time. I remember sitting in the sunshine the morning of my wedding and thinking that moments like this were what life was all about.
August 2016

Back to the top of Reviews

 


Home | Westcove House | The Stables | Pier Cottage | Garden Cottage | Location | Activities | Rates/Availablity/Booking | Contact | Reviews | FAQs